Is South America below the equator?

Is South America below the equator?

Although the northern part of South America extends north of the Equator and four-fifths of its landmass is located within the tropics, it also reaches subantarctic latitudes.

In what South American countries are located on or south of the Equator?

The equator passes through three countries in South America. They are Ecuador, Colombia, and Brazil.

Which South American city is located along the Equator?

Quito is the closest capital city to the equator.

Where is the Equator in South America?

The Equator runs through three South American countries: Ecuador, Brazil, and Columbia. The imaginary line at 0° (zero degrees) latitude covers…

Where does the Equator go through South America?

In South America, there are three countries where the Equator passes. These are Ecuador, Colombia, and Brazil.

Which South American country is on the Equator?

listen); Quechua: Ikwayur; Shuar: Ecuador or Ekuatur), officially the Republic of Ecuador (Spanish: República del Ecuador, which literally translates as “Republic of the Equator”; Quechua: Ikwadur Ripuwlika; Shuar: Ekuatur Nunka), is a country in northwestern South America, bordered by Colombia on the north, Peru on …

What cities sit on the equator?

Where to Travel Along the Equator

  • Singapore.
  • Quito, Ecuador.
  • Bogota, Colombia.
  • Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
  • Fortaleza, Brazil.

What South American cities are on the equator?

Bogota is the largest city and the capital of Colombia, with a population of approximately 8.1 million inhabitants. It is also the largest city on or near the equator, located at 4° 35′ 53″ N, in the southeastern portion of the Bogota savannah.

Where is the equator line located?

Encyclopedic entry. The Equator is an imaginary line around the middle of the Earth. It is halfway between the North and South Poles, and divides the Earth into the Northern and Southern Hemispheres.

What countries in South America are below the equator?

South America

  • Argentina.
  • Bolivia.
  • Chile.
  • Paraguay.
  • Peru.
  • Uruguay.

Which is South American country is the closest to the equator?

Ecuador (named after the equator in Spanish), Colombia and Brazil are the closest South American countries to the equator. The imaginary line runs through Ecuador near it’s northern border with Colombia, the southern portion of that country, and northern Brazil. Ironically,…

Are there any countries that lie on the equator?

The remaining three (Maldives, Kiribati, and Indonesia) are island nations in the Indian and Pacific oceans. The countries of Sao Tome and Principe, Gabon, Republic of the Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Uganda, Kenya, Somalia, Maldives, Indonesia, Kiribati, Ecuador, Colombia, and Brazil all lie along the equator.

How are the northern and southern hemispheres separated by the equator?

The equator is an imaginary line that circles the Earth, splitting it into the Northern and Southern hemispheres. Because of this, the intersection point of any location by the equator is equidistant from the North and South poles. Find out what life is like for countries along the equator. 13 Countries That Lie on the Equator

Are there any continents in the southern hemisphere?

The Southern Hemisphere is the half of the Earth south of the Equator, and it contains at least part of five continents, four oceans, and several islands. The five continents located in the Southern Hemisphere are Antarctica, Africa, Australia, South America, and Asia.