What is an APS investigation?

What is an APS investigation?

APS is a social service program authorized by law in every state to receive and investigate reports of elder or vulnerable adult maltreatment and to intervene to protect the victims to the extent possible. Reports to APS are often made by phone, although some states have web-based methods of accepting reports.

What is an APS case?

Adult Protective Services Case Examples Cases reported to adult protective services programs involve abuse, neglect, exploitation and/or self-neglect. Often, cases are reported with multiple concerns, or “polyvictimization.”

What happens if APS is called?

Once a report is assessed by APS, an investigator (typically a social worker) begins working on the “case.” The investigator completes face-to-face visits, collects collateral information from those involved and gathers medical or financial records and documents these activities.

How long does an APS investigation take?

APS Social Worker staff begin investigations within 24 hours. They will visit clients within 24 hours, three days, seven days, or 14 days depending on the priority of the case. Workers may talk to others who know the client to gather more information.

Why do we need Adult Protective Services ( APS )?

The APS program helps those adults who need assistance in dealing with abusive, neglectful or exploitive situations. Those who are most frail, dependent and socially isolated are at highest risk. Adult Protective Services social workers provide protective services to these adults, with their consent. This service is provided for adults who reside:

How does APS work in Sacramento County CA?

In addition to investigating allegations of abuse or neglect, Sacramento County APS assists elders and dependent adults of Provides a 24-hour hotline to report elder abuse and neglect. Secure linkages and referrals for other county and community services such as public health assessment and counseling services.

Who are the clients of Adult Protective Services?

Clients who qualify for these services are adults with disabilities aged 18 through 59 years with permanent physical or mental limitations that restrict their ability to perform normal activities of daily living and their capacity to live independently.