What is BS 13501-1?

What is BS 13501-1?

BS EN 13501-1 is the fire classification specified in each of the product standards that enable products to be CE Marked, as required by The Construction Products Regulation (EU) No 305/2011.

What is BS EN 13501-1 2007?

BS EN 13501-1:2007 Fire classification of construction products and building elements. Classification using data from reaction to fire tests (+A1:2009) (No longer current but cited in Building Regulations guidance)

What does BS EN 1366 cover in terms of fire resistance testing?

Penetration Seals – BS EN 1366-3 specifies a method of test and criteria for the evaluation (including field of application rules) of the ability of a penetration seal to maintain the fire resistance of a separating element at the position at which it has been penetrated by a service.

What is Class A1 reaction to fire?

REACTION TO FIRE CLASSIFICATIONS A1 – Non-combustible materials. No contribution to fire. A2 – Non-combustible materials.

How is fire resistance tested?

What is Fire Resistance Testing? Fire resistance can be determined through destructive fire testing designed to replicate the product’s intended end-use. The specimen to be tested is built into an appropriate supporting construction which is then built into a restraint frame and mounted on the front of a furnace.

What is fire rating A1?

A1 is the highest level of performance, while F is the lowest. Flooring materials are followed by the abbreviation ‘fl’ (for example, A1fl). Linear pipe thermal insulation products are followed by the abbreviation ‘L’ (for example, A1L). A1 products are classified as non-combustible.

What is class A 1 fire rating?

A class 1 fire rating is the best fire rating of materials that can be achieved. Class A fire ratings indicate a flame spread rating somewhere between zero and 25. Materials that fall into Class A or Class 1 include things like brick, gypsum wallboard, and fiber cement exterior materials.

What is a br135 certificate?

BR 135: Fire performance of external thermal insulation for walls of multistorey buildings, sets out the principles, design methodologies and fire spread performance characteristics for non-loadbearing cladding systems.

When did BS EN 13501-1 come out?

BS EN 13501-1 Fire classification of construction products and building elements, is the classification that enables certain products to be CE marked. It was originally published as BS EN 13501-1:2007+A1:2009 and was updated in 2018.

What is the BS EN for Fire classification?

BS EN 13501-1:2018 Fire classification of construction products and building elements. Classification using data from reaction to fire tests Details the procedure for reaction to fire classification covering all construction products, including those incorporated within building elements.

What are the three categories of BS EN?

Relates to three categories: construction products, floorings and linear pipe thermal insulation products. Supersedes BS EN 13501-1:2007+A1:2009. With over 100 years of experience the British Standards Institute is recognised as the UK’s National standards body.