Who was Florida governor in 2002?

Who was Florida governor in 2002?

The 2002 Florida gubernatorial election took place on November 5, 2002 for the post of Governor of Florida. Incumbent Republican governor Jeb Bush defeated Democratic candidate Bill McBride. Bush became the first Republican governor of Florida to win re-election to a second term.

Who was Florida’s governor in 2010?

2010 Florida gubernatorial election

Nominee Rick Scott Alex Sink
Party Republican Democratic
Running mate Jennifer Carroll Rod Smith
Popular vote 2,619,335 2,557,785
Percentage 48.9% 47.7%

Who was governor before Rick Scott?

Charlie Crist
In office January 2, 2007 – January 4, 2011
Lieutenant Jeff Kottkamp
Preceded by Jeb Bush
Succeeded by Rick Scott

How long has Ron DeSantis been governor of Florida?

Ronald Dion DeSantis (born September 14, 1978) is an American politician and attorney serving as the 46th governor of Florida since 2019….

Ron DeSantis
Assumed office January 8, 2019
Lieutenant Jeanette Nuñez
Preceded by Rick Scott
Member of the U.S. House of Representatives from Florida’s 6th district

Who was previous governor of Florida?

Living former governors

Governor Gubernatorial term Date of birth
Buddy MacKay 1998–1999 March 22, 1933
Jeb Bush 1999–2007 February 11, 1953
Charlie Crist 2007–2011 July 24, 1956
Rick Scott 2011–2019 December 1, 1952

Who is the Governor of the state of Florida?

Ronald Dion DeSantis (born September 14, 1978) is an American attorney, Naval officer, and politician serving as the 46th governor of Florida since January 2019. A Republican, he represented Florida’s 6th congressional district in Congress from 2013 to 2018. After graduating from Yale University and Harvard Law School,…

Who was the acting governor of Florida in 1954?

The President of the Senate, Charley E. Johns, took over as “Acting Governor” until an election could be held in November 1954 to till out Governor McCarty’s term. Article IV Section 3 (b) of the Florida Constitution now calls for the Lieutenant Governor to “act as Governor” during the Governor’s physical or mental incapacity.

Who is the oldest living governor of Florida?

There are seven living former governors of Florida, the oldest being Wayne Mixson (served 1987, born 1922). The most recent death of a former governor was that of Reubin Askew (served 1971–1979, born 1928), on March 13, 2014.

What was the term limit for the Governor of Florida?

The Florida Constitution of 1838 provided that a governor be elected every four years, who was not allowed to serve consecutive terms. The secessionist constitution of 1861 would have reduced this to two years and removed the term limit, but the state fell to the Union before the first election under that constitution.