What are the new California labor laws?
Beginning Jan. 1, 2021, for employers with 26 employees or more, the minimum wage will increase from $13 per hour to $14 per hour, and the exempt annual salary threshold will increase from $54,080 to $58,240.
Is California a Right to Work 2021?
In California, there is no right-to-work law.
What is the new independent contractor law in California?
The new law was effective on January 1, 2020. AB 5 requires companies to reclassify independent contractors as employees with a few exceptions to the rule. The bill was designed to increase regulation over companies that hire gig workers in large numbers, including DoorDash, Shipt, Postmates, Uber, and Lyft.
What is the new minimum wage for California 2021?
$14 per hour
 As of January 1, 2021, the minimum wage in California increased by $1 per hour to $14 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees and $13 per hour for employers with 1-25 employees.
What are my employee rights in California?
Employees have a reasonable right to privacy in the workplace. The right to be paid fair wages for the work that is performed. The right to a work environment that is free of harassment and discrimination of all types. The right to not be retaliated against for filing a complaint against an employer.
Is CA a right to work state?
California does not have a right to work law. Currently California is not a right to work state and employers can require union membership as a condition of employment.
Which states are right to work states 2021?
The 28 states having ‘Right-to-Work’ laws include Arizona, Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Idaho, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, Missouri, Nevada, North Dakota, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Dakota, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Texas, Wisconsin, and …
Can you still be an independent contractor in California?
Employees are entitled to minimum wage, overtime pay and other benefits, such as business expense reimbursement in California. Independent contractors are not entitled to such benefits, but they generally have more flexibility to set their own schedules and work for multiple companies.
Who is exempt from California AB5?
What Is Prop 22 and How Does It Affect AB5? Prop 22 was a ballot measure that passed on November 3, 2020. It declares that app-based transportation companies, such as rideshare (i.e. Uber and Lyft) and food delivery companies (i.e. Grubhub), are exempt from AB5 and its drivers are classified as independent contractors.
Is there a labor law helpline in California?
CalChamber Preferred and Executive members also receive unlimited access to our Labor Law Helpline. HRCalifornia provides access to California employment law resources to help you provide the appropriate advice to your California employees and to help you and your human resources team develop and implement appropriate workplace policies.
Is there a human resources law in California?
It can be difficult for employers both large and small to navigate California’s complex legal requirements. Through the HRCalifornia website, we help our members create effective human resources policies and resolve human resources issues in a manner that conforms to California employment law.
How to communicate with your employees in California?
Employee handbooks aren’t the only way to communicate with your employees. California and federal law require all employers to post required posters and notices in a prominent place where they can be viewed by all employees. You can find these required and recommended posters and notices at HRCalifornia and in our CalChamber Store.
How often does training have to be done in California?
California state laws require training must take place within six months of hire or promotion and every two years thereafter. CalChamber can help you stay in compliance with California and federal requirements. Knowing California employment law is an important part of your job.