What district is Ulaanbaatar in?

What district is Ulaanbaatar in?

Ulaanbaatar is divided into nine districts (Düüregs): Baganuur, Bagakhangai, Bayangol, Bayanzürkh, Chingeltei, Khan Uul, Nalaikh, Songino Khairkhan and Sükhbaatar.

How many districts are in Ulaanbaatar?

9 districts
Ulaanbaatar City is divided into 9 districts: Bayangol, Bayanzurkh, Chingeltei, Sukhbaatar, Songinokhairkhan, Khan-Uul, Nalaikh, Bagakhangai and Baganuur. Districts are divided into Khoroos, the smallest unit of administrative division of Ulaanbaatar.

Is Ulaanbaatar safe?

Generally speaking, Ulaanbaatar is mostly a safe city to visit. Its biggest problem is a petty crime that you may encounter on the streets. Most common is pickpocketing, so be especially beware in touristy-areas or crowded places like on public transport, markets, and train stations.

How many districts are in Mongolia?

331 districts
The 21 Provinces of Mongolia are divided into 331 districts. On average, each district administers a territory of 4,200 km2 (1,600 sq mi) with about 5,000 inhabitants, primarily nomadic herders.

Is Ulaanbaatar in Inner Mongolia?

Inner Mongolia is an autonomous region of China equivalent to a province. The capital city of Mongolia is Ulaanbaatar (formerly written as Ulan Bator) and the capital of Inner Mongolia is Hohhot (or Huhehaote to the Chinese).

Is Mongolia tourist friendly?

Surprisingly, Mongolia is actually a very safe country to visit. When travelling in Mongolia, you don’t really need to worry about things like tourist scams or petty crimes. However, there are still some things that you need to keep in mind while travelling in Mongolia.

What are the 21 provinces of Mongolia?


  • Arkhangai Province.
  • Bayan-Ölgii Province.
  • Bayankhongor Province.
  • Bulgan Province.
  • Darkhan-Uul Province.
  • Dornod Province.
  • Dornogovi Province.
  • Dundgovi Province.

How to get a Google map of Ulaanbaatar?

Google Maps: Searchable map/satellite view of Ulaanbaatar (Ulan Bator), Mongolia. to pan the map click on the respective arrow on the pan button or click on the map and move your mouse/pointer to drag the map around (pan). Terrain, it displays a physical map with topographical details.

Where is the airport in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia?

The map shows a city map of Ulaanbaatar with expressways and main roads, zoom out to find the location of Chinggis Khaan International Airport ( IATA code: ULN), about 16 km (10 mi) southwest of the city. To find a location use the form below. To find a location type: street or place, city, optional: state, country.

When was the city of Ulaanbaatar established?

Ulaanbaatar was established in 1639 as Orgoo (Urga), a moveable yurt city and seat of the first Jebtsundamba Khutughtu, the spiritual leader (Lama) of the Gelug lineage of Tibetan Buddhism in Mongolia. The mobile monastery-town was often moved to various places until 1778 when the city moved from Khui Mandal to its current location.

How many people live in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia?

Today Ulaanbaatar is Mongolia’s primate city, the cultural, economical, and industrial center of the nation. About 1.4 million people live in the city, more than one-third of Mongolia’s population. Spoken language is Mongolian. The city is home to the National University of Mongolia (NUM), the country’s oldest institution of higher learning.