What does grihastha mean?

What does grihastha mean?

Grihastha (Sanskrit: gr̥hastha) literally means “being in and occupied with home, family” or “householder”. It refers to the second phase of an individual’s life in a four age-based stages of the Hindu ashram system. In Indian traditions, Grihastha stage of life is a recommendation, but not a requirement.

What is grihastha ashram age?

Ashram system

Ashram or stage Age (years) Rituals of transition
Brahmacharya (student life) Till 25 Upanayana at entry. Samavartana at exit.
Grihastha (household life) 25–48 Hindu wedding at entry.
Vanaprastha (retired life) 48–72
Sannyasa (renounced life) 72+ (or anytime)

What are the 4 types of ashram?

An Ashrama in Hinduism is one of four age-based life stages discussed in Indian texts of the ancient and medieval eras. The four ashramas are: Brahmacharya (student), Grihastha (householder), Vanaprastha (retired) and Sannyasa (renunciate). Under the Ashram system, the human lifespan was divided into four periods.

What happens in Vanprastha ashram?

Vanaprastha is part of the Vedic ashram system, which starts when a person hands over household responsibilities to the next generation, takes an advisory role, and gradually withdraws from the world. …

At what age a man enter the last phase of his life sanyas?

4 states that a widower may choose Sannyasa if desired, but in general, states verse II. 10.17. 5, Sannyasa is suited after the completion of age 70 and after one’s children have been firmly settled. Other texts suggest the age of 75.

What are the four Varnas of the caste system?

The Brahmans called the Varnas system as the divine order. The four Varnas were the Brahmans, the Kshatriyas, the Vaishyas and the Shudras.

In which ashram did man had to leave everything forever?

The last stage (75 to 100 years) was the Sanyasa Ashrama. This was the period of renunciation. A man had to leave everything forever and go into meditation in order to attain moksha or salvation.

Which ashram a person firstly enters into?

Brahmacharya Ashrama
1. Brahamacharya Ashrama: The first stage of life is called Brahmacharya Ashrama. A boy enters this Ashrama through the performance of Upanayana ceremony.

What does the word Grihastha mean in Hinduism?

Grihastha is a Sanskrit word meaning “householder.” In Hinduism, it is the second of four life stages that an individual completes in order to fully develop as a person. In this stage, the individual devotes his/her time to working, maintaining their home and raising a family.

What does the word Ashrama mean in Hinduism?

Ashrama, familiarly spelled ashram in English, has also come to denote a place removed from urban life, where spiritual and yogic disciplines are pursued. Ashrams are often associated with a central teaching figure, a guru, who is the object of adulation by the residents of the ashram.

Which is the second phase of Hindu ashram life?

It refers to the second phase of an individual’s life in a four age-based stages of the Hindu ashram system. It follows celibacy (bachelor student) life stage, and embodies a married life, with the duties of maintaining a home, raising a family, educating one’s children, and leading a family-centred and a dharmic social life.

Which is the highest ashram in the Bible?

However they hold Grihastha ashram as the highest because, explains verse III.4.48, not only does the householder performs the duties recommended for all four asramas, they have to produce food and goods on which people in other ashramas survive.